The sight of beggars on the roads and streets of Lagos has never been pathetic as this one I saw. It was an eye sore. Under the scouching sun of a hot afternoon was a man begging for alms. The sun was so that it could melt the skin if their were no sweat glands underneath it. His sight soaked tears in my eyes. Stroke of pains and sympathy laced my heart. He could neither walk nor sit. He could only talk and see. Then I realised my ability to walk, sit, talk, jump, run et al is not a right but a privilege. The man crawled on his belly. ‘What trauma could be revolving in his psyche’ I thought.

The weather reader on my smartphone reads 30 degrees Celsius. Meaning the weather condition could almost boil water if it is tripled. As taught in Geography class back then in school: ‘The higher the point, the hotter’ but ‘The higher the altitude (height), the colder’. The man showed no sign of this analogies’ correctness. He was brimming with satisfaction and contentment. I wondered what he would have been like if he could walk. How pathetic!

Crawling on the floor as hot as that could be pain. Great pain. Almost hopeless as he was, he wore a very cheerful disposition. He bellied his pains and displayed a proud and happy mood. Showing that: ‘with breath still oozing out of me, I have hope. All is not lost’. No wonder, I interpreted his disposition to be: “There is light in the end of the tunnel”. What a lesson from a mere beggar (if may say). The so-called down-trodden man on the floor of a typical Lagos-road was the teacher on that day. Poverty striken fraction of the society some may say he is. A lesson you might not never learn from anyother person. Not even the elite!

